Tags

, , , , , ,

Daryush "Roosh V" Valizadeh

The issue that has spiked an outrage on Social Media and brought attention lately is the “International Meetup Day” rallies that were going to take place by the Return of Kings, a blogging website owned by Roosh Valizadeh for “heterosexual masculine men.” Wow.

Their issues revolve around Men’s Rights activist discussions. The rallies that were going to take place all around the world, but were cancelled due to the backlashes against them on social media because of a blog post about “legalizing rape.” Several politicians from several different countries posted tweets regarding Roosh not entering their country. Moreover, they also signed petitions to keep Roosh out of the country. Why is there so much hate against this guy? Well, clearly on his views regarding rape culture. The hashtag #turnawayreturnofkings spread very quickly and I’m not surprised whys. Here are some tweets from politicians and organizations.

According to Roosh, the main “intention” of the blog post was to prevent women from getting into “that” kind of trouble… Come on, really!? He says his article was satirical and nothing more. At first, when I read about the whole issue, I just hated the whole organization and the whole message that came with it. But, then I decided to on their website to read about it and see what they have to say about this whole matter. In his blog post, he says towards the legalizing rape issue, “I don’t. Legalizing rape is a notion so insanely absurd, I never imagined that people would take it 100% seriously, including politicians. I don’t believe any form of physical violence against men or women should be legalized. I’ve said that “How To Stop Rape” was a satirical thought experiment so many times that it’s clear to me current misinterpretation of it by the media is deliberate.”
I must say, after reading his own thoughts on this issue, I felt bad for him. I felt torn regarding the issue, mainly because I had never heard of Return of Kings and all their work. Although, Roosh is saying that he is not an anti-feminist or anything of that sort, several of his articles prove him wrong. A man who believes that a woman’s value depends on her fertility and beauty. Is he serious? Also, if his article was satirical, then why have a meet up all over regarding this? I just keep thinking of the amount of creeps out there that are just going to love this. At the moment, I am just so glad about these Meetups being cancelled. But I also keep thinking that this won’t stop them from meeting. They will find a way to meet, but I think it’s good to stop them as much as we can.

