Tags

This weekend is a very special one for me this year. It’s Valentines Day weekend, All-Star game weekend, and Kobe Bryant’s final appearance playing in an all-star game. I used to play basketball and Kobe Bryant was my idol growing and when I was younger I wanted to be just like him. His global iconic status will be celebrated as he plays his final game in the NBA’s most entertaining stage. When talking to the media before the game Kobe reflected on some of the memorable moments he has had during his career. He stated that not winning the championships in 2004 or 2008 is his biggest regret.Personally, my favorite Kobe Bryant moment was when we won his first championship in 2000 with Shaquille O’Neil. That is my favorite moment of him because that is when I began to fall in love with the game of basketball. Kobe’s career is being celebrated throughout the globe and on all social media platforms. Twitter is celebrating Kobe with tweets about Kobe’s career stats and meme’s that celebrate his highest professional achievements. His peers say his greatness is an example of his hard work ethic and his relentless determination to be the best. I knew this weekend was going to be a special weekend for me after I watched an entertaining  3 point contest and then the dunk contest, which happened the night before apart of the festivities of the NBA-All-Star weekend, and now leading up to the All-Star game watching my favorite player play his last game. Growing up All-Star weekend was always the most enjoyable weekend to watch and it makes me feel good to know that the next generation of kids watching this year’s game will get to appreciate and understand Kobe’s greatness and influence in today’s game.

http://espn.go.com/nba/story/_/page/allstarKobespeaks/nba-kobe-bryant-last-all-star-weekend

http://www.sportsnet.ca/basketball/nba/farewell-kobe-twitter-celebrates-historic-career/

 

 

 

 

