We’ve all done it. You’re at a concert where you bought tickets months in advance and paid a small fortune to be in the same arena as your favorite artist. And after all of that time and effort, you proceed to view the entire show through the tiny screen in your hand. Forgive me for being blunt, but if your friends cared about seeing your poorly lit Snapchat videos of Drake from thirty rows up, they would have bought a ticket themselves. If you can’t tell already, this is a pet peeve of mine. In our world of instant gratification, one would think people would be more inclined to see the action happening right in front of them. Instead, the vast majority of individuals at concerts choose to capture the entire event on video so everyone on Facebook knows they were there. This past weekend I was lucky enough to win tickets on the radio to see Keith Urban in concert. Being a giant fan of his, a country music fan in general, and having the opportunity to see him live at no cost to me, obviously I was elated. This concert, however, highlighted the fact that even the presence of four-time Grammy winner is not enough to peel audience member’s eyes away from their Instagram feed. I even urged my own Mother to appreciate show going on in front of her and log out of Facebook. She did not grow up with a screen in her hand like myself and the rest of my generation, so obviously this trend transcends age. I can only imagine that in the world before cell phones and social media, people enjoyed and savored live events for all that they were worth, because they knew they would never see the same sight again. Don’t get me wrong, I am all for preserving the moment. But don’t get so lost in preserving the moment that you miss the moment altogether.fullsizerender

