By: Diana Perez

Modern Keyboard With Colored Social Network Buttons.

BELCHATOW POLAND – MAY 02 2013: Modern white keyboard with colored social network buttons.

            Almost everyone knows that social media is an ongoing trend. I remember when I made my Facebook profile, I was in high school and eager to be part of the growing trend. I was very nervous as to what picture to use for my profile. I almost never took selfies then, something that has not changed till this day, so it was hard for me to establish a “good” profile picture. I have seen Facebook not only change me but the also the people around me, both in positive and negative ways. I know several people that have met their significant others on social media and have gone off to marry and start families with each other. I have a close friend who has met all his friends on Twitter and has gone to parties and dinner with them. I am not that open about hanging out with someone I have not met in person. I mean, no one wants to get catfished, Right? According to Facebook about 67 million fake accounts were used last month. That is an insane amount! I would like to be like my friend who makes the majority of his friends through his social media accounts, but up to this day, I do not see that happening.  Another thing to consider is online bullying. According to DoSomething.org 43 percent of kids have been bullied online and about 70% have reported to have seen someone get bullied through social media. I am unfortunately one of the 43 percent of those kids and even after my experience, I continue to believe that social media is good. It creates a network not only for friends but for a career and future employment. But like every good thing that is created, there is going to be someone who makes it all look bad, but it is up to the public to strive past the negativity of the “online haters.”

