Tags

, , , , ,

This question may or may not be inspired from a true event that may or may not have occurred an hour ago:

What makes people drive 30 minutes in the rain on a Sunday night at 9:00 to get Krispy Kreme donuts?

Well, in this hypothetical case (okay okay, it’s not hypothetical, I actually did that tonight. No length is too far.), it was a promoted Twitter post that spurred the last minute trek to a neighboring city’s Krispy Kreme. Let’s talk about that for a minute though; advertising actually working? Even when I blatantly recognized the post was an advertisement? Crazy!

There aren’t very many things that I would change my schedule around for just because of an advertisement, and I think that not only speaks volumes about the product (obviously, their donuts are the best), but also speaks volumes about their entire marketing scheme. What I love about their marketing is that they are straightforward with it. You KNOW when they are targeting you, but when you see the “HOT NOW” doughnut sign out front, you don’t really care that you’re falling fool to their ploys. You just want that doughnut.

 hot-doughnuts

Picture from: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/05/14/krispy-kreme-hot-light-app-fresh-hot-nice_n_7276544.html

Alright, I’ll stop generalizing everyone and assuming you all like Krispy Kreme as much as I do. But really though, think about some of the reasons why Krispy Kreme is so successful. They have the cutest paper hats, and while maybe everyone doesn’t wear them all the time, don’t we take them home and let them gather dust for a while? I think I held on to the first Krispy Kreme hat I got from a store for over a year. It was a novelty- I’d never had anything so simple and retro in the 7 years I’d been alive -and it made me want Krispy Kreme more.

 

Krispy Kreme Hat.jpg

Picture link

doughnuts

Picture link

Aside from the hats and the aforementioned promoted tweets, Krispy Kreme has done a fantastic job of staying relevant in the changing culture. Look, click here. Their website slides through seasonal doughnut flavors as well as promotions for voting on Election Day. How cool! Along with those things, Krispy Kreme also has an app that tells you when a fresh batch of donuts is ready (more information about that, here).

So maybe I am overhyping their marketing plan, but listen. Tonight wasn’t the first time I’ve dropped what I’m doing to drive 30 minutes each way to get some Krispy Kreme doughnuts, simply because I saw an advertisement for it. And if that’s not successful marketing, then I don’t know what is.

If one day I’m fortunate enough to own and operate my own advertising firm, we’re going to come up with simple, yet effective plans. Plans that include relevant technological advertisements, as well as appealing guerrilla marketing. And we will be successful.

Mark my words.

 

Kristen Harlow
@KrisEveHarlow

