Tags

, , , ,

JOUR 4270 Section 002 – Ashlyn LeVesque – 12/4/16 – Group A: Blog Seven

I joined this strategic social media course feeling extremely tentative about finding value in the subject. I have always avoided the social media world; I’ve done my best to not become consumed by a cyber world rather than the one I truly live and breathe in every day. I didn’t like the concept of having an identity online that only showed certain parts of my life. Ultimately, I let my site become tags from other people.

However, I joined this course willing to keep an open mind to the benefits of social media. It is undeniable that social media is becoming increasingly relevant in the advertising industry. As an aspiring advertising copywriter, I can appreciate the value of having a database at your fingertips to share free advertising and promote positive public relations for brand awareness and consumer interaction. From a business point of view social media is a very important word-of-mouth source, especially in advertising. No brand wants to be talked about poorly online.

This weekend I experienced first hand the impact social media can make on a company.  I moved to Denton at the start of November to finish my last semester in the Spring. Two weeks ago, I began to set up my account with Frontier Utilities, the only company option I was given to set up wireless internet in my apartment. The previous tenant for my apartment had an outstanding balance with Frontier, and this caused me to jump through hoops to become a customer. I had to fax the company a notarized form with my identification verification and the front page of my leasing contract to prove my name was on the lease. I also deposited $50 to the company two weeks in advance to secure that a maintenance man would come on December 2.

The service window they gave me was all day, from 8 AM to 5 PM. I canceled my plans and freed my entire day to wait for a service worker to come by. At 2 PM I received a call that they would not be coming out to install my internet that day. I was furious, and was forced to speak with a condescending and rude supervisor for over an hour who ultimately said she would return my call later and to have a nice day.

Finally, I remembered the power of social media. I logged in to Twitter and tagged in the company in a tweet that read, “@frontieru BEYOND angry you gave a service window from 8-5 & then canceled after I cleared my day & had been waiting 6 hours. #BADSERVICE.” Within 20 minutes I heard back from the company.

Ultimately, I knew the negative tweets on their social media page meant more to the company than an angry customer on hold via phone. Social media is open public relations for the company. If anyone can go onto a company’s Twitter page and see negative customer reviews, they are more than likely not going to choose said company. Frontier seemed to know this. After our issues were solved and my Internet was connected, they asked me to please remove my tweets. This experienced convinced me of the power social media holds for a company. Poor word of mouth spreads all too easily today with the power of the Internet. This can either make or break a company. Social media truly does matter.

