Prior to college, I had no knowledge surrounding LinkedIn or what it was for. As I continued to build myself professionally and personally, I found the importance of the usage in this platform when building your professional reputation.

Initially, I only created one because I noticed my co-workers whom I worked with during my freshman year in college had their own profile as well as our employers. I decided I wanted to “fit in,” so I set up my profile picture and filled out a few details within my profile. After a few months I really began to build my profile and organize my professional experience into the social media platform. Now, I receive about 1-2 messages a week with some kind of business opportunity.

“How do you want the world to see you professionally? What kinds of work do you enjoy doing? Why are you on LinkedIn? Those are the questions you should think about when creating your LinkedIn profile, so it’s aligned with your personal brand. While marketing-speak like ‘personal brand’ feels fake to many of us, we’re really just talking about setting the right tone for your profile and positioning yourself for the kinds of opportunities you’re interested in.” – Melanie Pinola, LinkedIn In 30 Minutes: How to create a rock-solid LinkedIn profile and build connections that matter

See book here

Despite these messages, I can’t ever seem to come around to responding to them or showing further interest. I’ve always found them to be pretty sketchy. One time I actually did reply and show interest and curiosity, but the user was just offering an opportunity to join a pyramid marketing team. I don’t have time for that stuff.

Aside from that, I’ve seen a lot of business-to-business communication and content creation. It’s almost like a space to brag about your knowledge, skills and place of employment. From updating those connected to you with your current employment status and any new events or achievements that have been made to strictly promoting services, the site is mostly consisted of professionals connecting to professionals and wanting to network and grow within their field and locality.

LinkedIn Profile

  • Relvyn Lopez
