By Holland Turner

As a college student in 2016, I am drilled on an almost daily basis about the importance of online professional networking. I have learned to perfect my online professional presence in order to make the best first impression possible for potential employers. These skills have served me in many capacities over the years, such as resume writing, interviewing skills, selecting the perfect profile picture. While these skills are invaluable in the context of a social media capacity, I would like to argue that interpersonal skills are exponentially more important in order to land your dream job. While I acknowledge the fact that I do not have that much professional experience under my belt, comparatively speaking, I have formed this opinion through my positions thus far and various University job fairs. The best advice I always like to pass on to classmates is: always go to the interview. I don’t care if you’re undecided about the job or don’t think you have any chance of getting it, you’re never going to know for sure until you meet the employer face-to-face. Interviews are vital in the process of gathering information the company you’ve applied to, and you can’t gain that kind of information from a LinkedIn profile. Interviews are also important to give the company your best and convince them that you are the best possible candidate for the job. This cannot be done from one swift glance at your resume. University job fairs are also extremely important for the purpose of meeting possible employers that you might not have made contact with otherwise. It is necessary to always look at the list of companies that will be attending the event and do your homework on the ones you are interested in. This will give you a polished and prepared first impression that is sure to impress and warrant a follow-up contact email.

1-competency-based-interview-questions.jpg

